Friday, March 23, 2012

an exception to every rule

last night i saw the hunger games at 12:01. i got home at 3am. i woke up at 8:30am. i worked for 10 hours. i came home at 8:15. i cooked my husband dinner. i went to the gym. at 9pm. on a friday. alert the mofo media hos, times they are a changing.

but, i decided that there need to be a few exceptions to this sweat everyday situ that i started. so i have begun with two exceptions. lord knows by june i'll have approximately 17 more. but for now they are as follows: if i am sick. like really sick. not like a headache sick but sick like i was a few weeks ago when my fever was topping out at 102, i was hacking up a lung, and i broke into a sweat just getting out of bed to use the bathroom. so there's that. also, i'm not forcing myself to work out if i work a 12 hour day. i don't sit at a desk all day, if i work 12 hours there's a 90% chance that i've been running around 6 of them and am exhausted. so, it may be that day, may be the day after, but if i work 12+ hours i get a day off. fair enough me thinks.

SO i get tomorrow off. WHOOOP WHOOOP. oh wait i have to work an estimated SEVENTEEN HOURS tomorrow. ballsack. i'd DEF rather go to the gym for an hour and get the other 9 hours back...

but back to today. i made it! whoop!

day 4 outfit: another pair of gap yoga pants. i really hate these. i'm ordering at least one, maybe two, more pair of groove pants very soon. besides the crap pants i rocked my matt wertz old school tennis shoes t-shirt that brian hates. i don't generally wear this shirt to the gym because it's a light heathered grey so duh even the tiniest drop of sweat shows up but by the time i got to the gym i didn't give even 1/4 of a shit what anyone thought of me. green and white dance headband, asics. i could do without this combo for a little while.

day 4 results: well i had exactly one hour to work out, warm down, and stretch. so i got in a solid 45 minute cardio workout with a caloric burn of 520 and cals from fat up to 22%. my limited research has informed me that if the calories are not being burned from fat they are likely coming from muscle or carbs. well lord knows i have plenty of carbs to give up so burn away, carbs. muscle...i'd like to hang onto that but i know i can build it back if i lose some by working at a higher heart rate for longer. i forgot my max and avg. heart rate and i'm too tired at this point to go dig out my monitor and share the number since i'm fairly certain no one really reads what i have to say.

day 4 special result: my vo2max is up 6 points. i am very close to the "above average" category which god knows i love to be above average, so i'm working hard to keep workin' my heart and training my aerobic system to get it together and bring that number way way up.

day 4 special notes: i literally almost threw someone off an elliptical tonight. she was going so damn slow which just annoys me. she was playing with her hair the entire time. i mean seriously if you have enough coordination left in you to fiddle with your frizzy hair, you aren't moving fast enough. she took my favorite elliptical which is just unacceptable if you're not going to really work it. that machine is lovingly referred to as joe, and joe needs you to WORK HIM OUT. so for god's sake work him woman. she also talked/texted/played on her phone the entire time. and then she read the newspaper. i mean she really almost actually got tossed off the 4th floor balcony. i tried not to let her bug me but i was tired, irritated, and sweaty...WOAH bad combo for this bitch.

i'm off like a prom dress to paint my nails. i got some gorgeous multi-color glitter top coat from ulta and i cannot wait to try this shit out and see how gorgeous it is. i hope the day never comes when i think "i'm too old for this polish" that would be a total bitch.

NIGHT! (don't be sad when i don't update tomorrow, no gym means no blog)

No comments:

Post a Comment